Hall of Fame

    Hall of Fame - 2006 Inductees

    *Statistics current as of induction year*
    Dick Enberg | Jon McGlocklin | Dave Power
    Mike Smith | Erica Wicoff

    This is a current news photo
    Dick Enberg

    Dick Enberg-

    Spent 25 years with NBC Sports, beginning in 1975 as the play-by-play announcer for college basketball. One of the most versatile play-by-play announcers in sports broadcasting, Enberg has taken on assignments including NFL football (39 seasons), the Super Bowl (nine times), the Rose Bowl (nine times), the Orange Bowl (six times), the Olympic Games (1972, '88, '92, '96), the American and National League Playoffs, the World Series, the French Open (19 times), Wimbledon (22 times), the U.S. Open Tennis Championship (six times), the PGA Championship (three times), the U.S. Open Golf Championship (five times), the Ryder Cup (three times), the NBA Playoffs and All-Star Game and the NCAA Men's Basketball Championship (ten times).

    Before joining NBC, was named California Sportscaster of the Year four times. Has earned a series of national honors, including 14 Emmy Awards, received the 2000 Lifetime Achievement Emmy Award, the 1995 National Basketball Hall of Fame's Curt Gowdy Award, the 1999 Pro Football Hall of Fame's Pete Rozelle Award, nine Sportscaster of the Year awards, the Ronald Regan Media Award, the Victor Award as the top sportscaster of the past 25 years. Only person to win national Emmy Awards as a sportscaster, writer and producer. In 1998 he became only the fourth sportscaster to be honored with a star on the Hollywood Walk of Fame. Is the author of two bestsellers, "Dick Enberg's Humorous Quotes for All Occasions," and "Dick Enberg Oh My!"

    Has been the national spokesperson for the Academic All-American program for 20 years and was inducted into its Hall of Fame in 1997. Received his Masters and Doctorate at Indiana University, and in 1958 was the first "Voice of the IU Sports Network."

    This is a current news photo
    Jon McGlocklin

    Jon McGlocklin-

    Won basketball letters in 1963-65; was captain in 1964 and co-captain in 1965. Received the Balfour Award as a senior in 1965. Set an IU season record with .900 free throw percentage in 1965. Later played professionally for 11 years in the NBA, eight of which were with the Milwaukee Bucks. During his time at Milwaukee he was team captain, played in the 1969 NBA All-Star game and was on the 1971 NBA championship team. Wore number 14, which was retired by the Bucks in 1976 and hangs in the rafters of the Bradley Center. Is currently the color analyst for Milwaukee Bucks television broadcasts.

    This is a current news photo
    Dave Power

    Dave Power-

    Won tennis letters in 1964, 1965, 1966; won Big Ten doubles championship in 1965 and was runner up in singles. Had season records of 20-3, 15-3 and 22-1 for a career record of 57-7. Also had a Big Ten singles dual match record of 27-2. Played on the 1964 Big Ten Championship team, and was number one singles and doubles all three years. Team tied for 13th place in 1964 and ninth place in 1965 at the NCAAs. All-American and All-Big Ten in 1965 and 1966. In 1966 won the Balfour Awards. Power and his partner Rod McNerney made it to the semi-finals in doubles at the 1965 NCAA Tournament, defeating the No. 1 seeds. In doubles, combined for a 47-8 career record.

    This is a current news photo
    Mike Smith

    Mike Smith-

    Won baseball letters in 1989, 1990, 1991 and 1992. Was first team All-Big Ten in 1991 and 1992; Big Ten Player of the Year in 1992; second team All-American in 1992. Was Sporting News National Player of the Year in 1992; hit .490 with 27 home runs and 95 RBI in 1992 to win the national triple crown, the first and only player in NCAA history to do so. Holds the IU single-season records for average, home runs, runs batted in, slugging percentage and total bases. Tied for the IU career record with 47 homers.

    This is a current news photo
    Erika Wicoff

    Erika Wicoff-

    Won golf letters in 1993, 1994, 1995 and 1996. Led the Hoosiers to Big Ten titles in 1995 and 1996 and took them to a fifth place NCAA finish in 1995. Is the only player in Big Ten history to win three consecutive conference individual championships, doing so in 1994, 1995 and 1996. First team All-American in both 1995 and 1996. IU's female Athlete-of-the-Year in 1996. Still holds the IU season and career scoring records.

    IU Athletics Hall of Fame Induction Classes
    2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010 | 2009 | 2008 | 2007 | 2006 | 2005 | 2004 | 2003 | 2002 | 2001 | 2000 | 1999 | 1998 | 1997
    1996 | 1995 | 1994 | 1993 | 1992 | 1991 | 1990 | 1989 | 1988 | 1987 | 1986 | 1985 | 1984 | 1983 | 1982
    Or, if you are looking for a particular inductee, choose from our Alphabetical Listing.

      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties