Hall of Fame

    Hall of Fame - 2009 Inductees

    *Statistics current as of induction year*
    Steve Downing | Bob Knight | Katrin Koch | Joe Norman
    Mike Rabold | Alan Somers | Jerry Yeagley

    This is a current news photo
    Steve Downing

    Steve Downing-

    Won three basketball letters from 1971-73. Named Indiana and Big Ten Most
Valuable Player in 1973 after leading the Hoosiers to the Final Four of the
NCAA championship. First team All-Big Ten in 1973 after averaging 20.1
points and 10.6 rebounds. Averaged 15.1 rebounds in 1972, second best mark
in IU history for a season; ranks fifth in career rebounds with 889. Played professional
basketball for two years with the Boston Celtics. Served as IU Associate
Athletic Director for 20 years.

    This is a current news photo
    Bob Knight

    Bob Knight-

    Indiana basketball coach from 1971-2000 with a career record of 661-240 at
IU. Coached teams that won 11 Big Ten Championships, a Big Ten record,
and NCAA championships in 1976, 1981, and 1987. Only coach in history
to lead teams to NCAA (1976, 1981, and 1987), NIT (1979), Pan American
(1979) and Olympic (1984) championships. Last coach to have perfect winning
season (32-0 in 1976). Coached 16 All-Americans; had nine players win Big
Ten MVP honors; and had 29 players who played in the NBA. Big Ten Coach of
the Year six times and National Coach of the Year in 1975, 1976, 1987, and
1989. Inducted into the Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame in 1991. He is the
all-time winningest coach in college basketball history with a 902-371 record
(70.8), which was compiled at Army, IU and Texas Tech. After playing at Orrville
(Ohio) High School, he played at Ohio State under Hall of Fame Coach
Fred Taylor and was a member of the Buckeyes 1960 national championship

    This is a current news photo
    Katrin Koch

    Katrin Koch-

    Won track letters in 1989, 1990, 1991 and 1992. Won Big Ten Medal in 1992;
Big Ten indoor shot put title in 1992; Big Ten outdoor shot put titles in 1991
and 1992; and Big Ten discus titles in 1991 and 1992. NCAA champion in
the shot put outdoors in 1992; three-time All-American indoors in the shot
put; four-time All-American outdoors in the shot put and once in the discus.
Still owns the IU discus record. Set Big Ten shot put records both indoors and
outdoors and in the discus. Served as Indiana's Assistant Director of Strength
and Training (1993-98) and Head Strength Coordinator (1998-04).

    This is a current news photo
    Joe Norman

    Joe Norman-

    Won football letters in 1975-78 and was co-captain in both 1977 and 1978.
Linebacker who was IU Most Valuable Player in 1977 and 1978. Named All-Big Ten in
1978. Second team All-American by NEA in 1978. Played in 1978 Hula Bowl
and the 1978 Japan Bowl where he was named Defensive MVP. Later went on
to play professionally with the Seattle Seahawks.

    This is a current news photo
    Mike Rabold

    Mike Rabold-

    Won football letters in 1956, 1957, and 1958 and was captain in 1958. Was
IU's Most Valuable Player as a guard in '58, and the runner-up for the Chicago
Tribune Big Ten Most Valuable Player award. Won IU's Balfour Award in
1958. Third team All-American by Central Press in '58. Played in 1958 Blue-
Gray game, the Senior Bowl and the College All-Star game. Played in the NFL
for 9 years and was a member of the 1963 Chicago Bears' championship team.
Inducted into the Indiana Football Hall of Fame in 1977, and was one of the
founders of the Indiana Football High School All-Star game.

    This is a current news photo
    Alan Somers

    Alan Somers-

    Won swimming letters in 1961-1963 and was captain in 1963. Won five Big
Ten championships in the 400, 1500, and 1650 freestyles. Competed in 1960
Olympics in the 400 (5th) and 1500 (7th). Won 4 AAU championships in freestyle
events. Owned the American record in the 400 freestyle for three years.

    This is a current news photo
    Jerry Yeagley

    Jerry Yeagley-

    Soccer coach from 1973-2004. Won 6 national championships and led teams
to the College Cup 16 times, advancing to championship game 12 times. Won
10 regular season Big Ten championships and 10 Big Ten tournament championships.
Had overall record of 544-101-45 to become all-time NCAA leader
in victories. Big Ten Coach of the Year 8 times, NSCAA National Coach of
the Year 6 times. A 1989 inductee into the United States Soccer Federation Hall
of Fame. The playing surface at Armstrong Stadium was named for him in
2004. In 2008, voted the NCAA Division I Men's Soccer 50th Anniversary
team coach.

    IU Athletics Hall of Fame Induction Classes
    2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010 | 2009 | 2008 | 2007 | 2006 | 2005 | 2004 | 2003 | 2002 | 2001 | 2000 | 1999 | 1998 | 1997
    1996 | 1995 | 1994 | 1993 | 1992 | 1991 | 1990 | 1989 | 1988 | 1987 | 1986 | 1985 | 1984 | 1983 | 1982
    Or, if you are looking for a particular inductee, choose from our Alphabetical Listing.

      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties